Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Easy Star All-Stars - Radiodread

Easy Star All-Stars - Radiodread

2006 (Cover CD) [Reggae, Dub, Ska] Easy Star

Easy Star All-Star's Radiodread album is a complete song makeover of Radiohead's OK Computer that turns the epic masterpiece into a catchy, upbeat, reggae record. With Radiohead's approval to do so, Easy Star All-Stars altered the lyrics to fit their style, such as Rastafarin themes, but kept the same track listing as the original. Due to the original Radiohead's OK Computer being their most downbeat release, the record was often labeled as just "OK" and "Nothing Special" compared to Easy Star All-Stars other more upbeat albums which they covered in the future. Some have even complained about how horrible this was compared to the original. Being a huge Radiohead and a huge Ska fan this was a treat. Jonny Greenwood (Radiohead's guitarest) , who always had a love for reggae, and Thom Yorke (Radiohead's vocalist) have both praised the album saying it is "truly astounding".

  1. Airbag (featuring Horace Andy)
  2. Paranoid Android (featuring Kristy Rock)
  3. Subterranean Homesick Alien (featuring Junior Jazz)
  4. Exit Music [For A Film] (featuring Sugar Minott)
  5. Let Down (featuring Toots & the Maytals)
  6. Karma Police (featuring Citizen Cope)
  7. Fitter Happier (featuring Menny More)
  8. Electioneering (featuring Morgan Heritage)
  9. Climbing Up The Walls (featuring Tamar-kali)
  10. No Surprises (featuring The Meditations)
  11. Lucky (featuring Frankie Paul)
  12. The Tourist (featuring Israel Vibration)
  13. Exit Music (For A Dub)
  14. An Airbag Saved My Dub

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave a comment or question below